Ohio State Medical Association (OSMA) Council Resolution concerning 2020 Emergency Operating Regulations - Elections

By official vote of the OSMA Council on March 21, 2020, the Council adopts the following emergency resolution:

Whereas, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine issued Emergency Order 2020-01D Declaring a State of Emergency in Ohio due to the COVID-19 viral outbreak and Ohio Department of Health Director Amy Acton, MD's Order dated March 12, 2020 prohibits gatherings of more than 100 people, and

Whereas, the World Health Organization has declared COVID-19 as a pandemic outbreak, and the US Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the Ohio Department of Health are correspondingly advising social distancing measures to mitigate the severity of the spread of COVID-19, and

Whereas, the OSMA had a regularly scheduled Annual Meeting of its House of Delegates for March 21-22 in Columbus, Ohio at which physicians from all regions of Ohio publicly gather to elect OSMA officials and debate public policy and such public meeting is now prohibited, and

Whereas, the OSMA Constitution and Bylaws contain no provisions for how to conduct the Annual House of Delegates meeting in case of emergency when the meeting cannot be conducted in person, and

Whereas, the OSMA Council has all authority of the House of Delegates in between meetings of the House of Delegates and, therefore, has further authority pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 1702.11 to adopt emergency regulations, operative only during an emergency, to govern, among other items, OSMA meetings and elections, therefore be it

Resolved, that the OSMA Council adopts the emergency regulations, detailed below, to govern the conduct of elections that would have been completed at the regularly scheduled OSMA Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates had the meeting not been canceled due to the COVID-19 state of emergency; and be it further

Resolved, that these emergency regulations are in effect until the OSMA completes the organizational business that would have been conducted at the regularly scheduled 2020 Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates.

2020 OSMA Emergency Regulations – Elections

Any provision in the OSMA Constitution and Bylaws allowing for nominations of candidates to elected office from the floor of the House of Delegates is suspended for the 2020 elections. Given that the OSMA, prior to adoption of these emergency regulations, has publicized at numerous times and on numerous communication channels the opportunity to declare a

candidacy for office, there has been sufficient opportunity for any interested party to declare their candidacy for OSMA office.

- 1. Election for President-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer
 - a. As of March 21, 2020 there is only one candidate running for each of these positions. Given that the House of Delegates typically elects candidates by acclamation in uncontested races, the following candidates are declared elected:
 - i. Lisa Egbert, MD, President-Elect
 - ii. Andrew Thomas, MD, Secretary-Treasurer
 - b. The terms of office for President-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer shall begin March 22, 2020 and continue consistent with the terms for these offices as stated in the OSMA Constitution and Bylaws.
- 2. Election of the Ohio Delegation to the AMA
 - a. For delegation seats for the term of January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022, five candidates are running for five seats. Thus, these delegation seats are uncontested. Given that the House of Delegates typically elects candidates by acclamation in uncontested races, the following candidates are declared elected:
 - i. Robyn Chatman, MD
 - ii. Brett Coldiron, MD
 - iii. Richard Ellison, MD
 - iv. Deepak Kumar, MD
 - v. William Sternfeld, MD
 - For delegation seats for the term beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2020, there are three candidates running for two seats: John Corker, MD, Carl Wehri, MD and Colette Willins, MD.
 - i. All three candidates for this election withdrew. Per the current AMA Delegation policies and procedures, the two most senior current AMA Alternate Delegates (Carl Wehri, MD and Regina Whitfield-Kekessi, MD) shall fill the two vacant Delegate seats through the 2020 AMA Annual Meeting. The OSMA Council shall review the status of this election at its July 2020 meeting and take further action as necessary for the AMA 2020 Interim Meeting.
 - c. For alternate delegation seats for the term of January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022, two candidates are running for two seats. Thus, these delegation seats are uncontested. Given that the House of Delegates typically elects candidates by acclamation in uncontested races, the following candidates are declared elected:
 - i. John Corker, MD
 - ii. Colette Willins, MD

d. For Alternate Delegate to the AMA for the following possible terms dependent on the Delegate term results, there are two candidates running for the seats listed below: John Bastulli, MD and Elizabeth Muennich, MD. Both candidates withdrew. The OSMA Council shall review the status of this election at its July 2020 meeting and take further action as necessary for the AMA 2020 Interim Meeting. Immediate – December 31, 2020 – Up to two to be elected Immediate – December 31, 2021 – Up to one to be elected January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2022 – Up to one to be elected