view all news
Complete Story


Ohio’s New Legislative Session – The 134th General Assembly


The 134th General Assembly is underway, and OSMA is proud to continue to represent you and advocate on your behalf. We believe that in 2020, our advocacy team laid the groundwork that will help us achieve more in 2021.

As is common after the conclusion of a two-year legislative session and the beginning of a new general assembly, some of the legislative proposals that did not make it across the finish line by the end of the year in 2020 will likely be reintroduced.

We expect that we will see familiar issues resurface in the coming months, and we also hope to advance several new advocacy priorities this year. Help us set our advocacy agenda and make sure we know which issues matter most to you by completing our quick advocacy priorities survey!

Submit Our Brief Survey >

The Ohio Senate

Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima) was unanimously elected to serve as Senate President for the 134th General Assembly, and further Senate leadership includes Senator Jay Hottinger (R-Newark) as President Pro Tempore, Senator Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) as Majority Floor Leader, and Senator Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) as Majority Whip.

Key Minority Leadership members in the Ohio Senate includes Senators Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Heights) as Minority Leader, Cecil Thomas (D-Avondale) as Assistant Minority Leader, Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood) as Assistant Minority Whip and Tina Maharath (D-Canal Winchester) as Assistant Minority Whip.

The Senate Health Committee will be chaired by physician Sen. Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City), with Sen. Niraj Antani (R-Miamisburg) as Vice Chair and Sen. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood) as Minority Ranking Member. All three of these legislators have a history of working with OSMA on our priority issues.


The Ohio House

Speaker of the Ohio House Bob Cupp will continue to serve into the new general assembly as Speaker of the House along with Representatives Tim Ginter (R-Salem) as Speaker Pro Tempore, Bill Seitz (R-Green Township) as Majority Floor Leader, Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township) as Assistant Floor Leader, Don Jones (R-Freeport) as Majority Whip and Cindy Abrams (R-Harrison) as Assistant Majority Whip.

Key Minority Leadership members in the Ohio House include Representatives Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) as Minority Leader, Kristin Boggs (D-Columbus) as Assistant Minority Leader, Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo) as Minority Whip, Richard Brown (D-Canal Winchester) as Assistant Minority Whip, and Phil Robinson (D-Solon) as Caucus Chair.

The House Health Committee will most likely continue under the leadership of current Chairman, Representative Scott Lipps (R-Franklin), who has been instrumental in the progress of our legislative initiatives.


You can count on OSMA to monitor legislative activities and make your voices heard. Our advocacy team works to ensure meaningful impact for physicians, their patients, and the practice of medicine in Ohio in the coming year. Watch for updates as bills get introduced and the hearings and sessions begin!



See Membership Value & Join/Renew >

If you have questions about this information
or OSMA’s services to physicians:

Call 800-766-6762 or email OSMA.

Printer-Friendly Version