Medical Board—Important News!
-Mandatory 1-hour Duty to Report CME
-Reminder of Required CME Hours
Duty to Report— 1-Hour CME Requirement
Effective May 31, 2021, physicians are required to complete one hour of Continuing Medical Education (CME) on the topic of a licensee’s duty to report misconduct, with enforcement to commence with renewal or reinstatement applications submitted on or after July 1, 2021.
OSMA has long advocated, and has policy, against one-size-fits-all mandatory Continuing Medical Education (CME) content as a condition for licensure, advocating instead that educational needs be determined by the physician, based on the practitioners’ practice, specialty and patient population.
Despite objections from OSMA and others, the medical board passed the new CME requirement. Many stakeholders, including OSMA, asked the medical board to provide an educational tool to aid physicians in fulfilling this requirement.
OSMA is happy to report that the medical board has created a CME course designed to educate physicians on the duty to report to the State Medical Board of Ohio. The one-hour course is designed to educate physicians on the duty to report to the State Medical Board of Ohio. Physicians are encouraged to read the Frequently Asked Questions and Tips and Technical Requirements prior to watching the video.
CME Hours Reminder:
Just a reminder that as of October 2019, Ohio’s CME law changed to require that physicians complete a total of 50 hours Category 1 CME every two years to be eligible for license renewal. Previously, physicians were required to complete a total of 100 hours, of which 40 needed to be Category 1.