Complete Story


OSMAPAC Announces 2022 Candidate Endorsements

Ohio Statehouse

As the political voice for OSMA’s physician, resident and student members, the Ohio State Medical Association Political Action Committee (OSMAPAC) advocates for Ohio physicians by helping to elect state and federal candidates who support OSMA’s policy agenda. Each election year, the OSMAPAC embarks on a comprehensive process to endorse candidates and share information about these endorsements with members.

The OSMAPAC never makes an endorsement recommendation based solely upon any one single issue or principle, but rather based upon a complete review of all relevant information concerning a candidate. The candidates in each election are subject to thorough scrutiny by all individuals involved in the endorsements process, and several criteria are key for consideration:

  • Candidate’s philosophy on all medical issues;
  • Recommendations from local OSMA members;
  • Candidate’s completed the OSMAPAC candidate questionnaire, if applicable;
  • Candidate’s interview with local physicians, if applicable; and,
  • District demographics and a candidate’s ability to win.

The recommendations for endorsements originate from the local physicians who have reviewed information related to the above criteria and in many cases, conducted interviews with both candidates. The OSMAPAC partnered with local and county medical societies to help organize and carry out the interviews for candidates in each respective area. After the recommendations from each local area or district were made, the OSMAPAC Board of Directors (which includes physicians from the 8 OSMA districts across the state, as well as representation from OSMA’s resident, medical student, and international medical graduate sections, and the OSMA Alliance) was tasked with the final approval of the endorsements based on the recommendations given to the Board by those local physicians.

The OSMAPAC Board also conducted interviews with Governor Mike DeWine, Gubernatorial Candidate Nan Whaley, and U.S. Senate Candidates Tim Ryan
and JD Vance.

The endorsed candidates are running for U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Senate, state Governor, Ohio Supreme Court, and Ohio General Assembly.

The OSMAPAC would like to thank all of our members and the candidates who participated in the questionnaire and interview processes.

If you would like more details, or are interested in information about further supporting the OSMAPAC mission and advocacy, please contact Joe Rosato.



Governor & Lieutenant Governor of Ohio

Governor Mike DeWine
and Lt. Governor John Husted

U.S. Senate

Rep. Tim Ryan

Ohio Supreme Court:

Justice Pat DeWine

Justice Pat Fischer

Justice Sharon Kennedy


Ohio Supreme Court Endorsement Materials Available: The OSMAPAC is offering a limited amount of posters and prescription pads featuring our endorsed candidates for Ohio Supreme Court free of charge to our members. If you are interested in receiving these items to help promote the OSMAPAC-endorsed Supreme Court candidates, visit:  

U.S. House of Representatives, Ohio:

Rep. Steve Chabot, Dist. 1

Rep. Brad Wenstrup, Dist. 2

Rep. Joyce Beatty, Dist. 3

Rep. Bob Latta, Dist. 5

Rep. Bill Johnson, Dist. 6

Rep. Warren Davidson, Dist. 8

Rep. Marcy Kaptur, Dist. 9

Rep. Mike Turner, Dist. 10

Rep. Shontel Brown, Dist. 11

Rep. Troy Balderson, Dist. 12

Rep. Dave Joyce, Dist. 14

Rep. Mike Carey, Dist. 15



Ohio Senate:

Rob McColley, Dist. 1

Tina Maharath, Dist. 3

Steve Huffman, Dist. 5

Steve Wilson, Dist. 7

Catherine Ingram, Dist. 9

Paula Hicks-Hudson, Dist. 11

Nathan Manning, Dist. 13

Hearcel Craig, Dist. 15

Shane Wilkin, Dist. 17

Andrew Brenner, Dist. 19

Kent Smith, Dist. 21

Nickie Antonio, Dist. 23

Bill DeMora, Dist. 25

Kristina Roegner, Dist. 27

Kirk Schuring, Dist. 29

Al Landis, Dist. 31

Michael Rulli, Dist. 33



Ohio House of Representatives:

Dontavius Jarrells, Dist. 1

Latyna Humphrey, Dist. 2

Ismail Mohamed, Dist. 3

Mary Lightbody, Dist. 4

Richard Brown, Dist. 5

Adam Miller, Dist. 6

Allison Russo, Dist. 7

Beth Liston, Dist. 8

Munira Abdullahi, Dist. 9

Dave Dobos, Dist. 10

Anita Somani, Dist. 11

Brian Stewart, Dist. 12

Michael Skindell, Dist. 13

Sean Brennan, Dist. 14

Bride Rose Sweeney, Dist. 16

Tom Patton, Dist. 17

Darnell Brewer, Dist. 18

Phillip Robinson, Jr., Dist. 19

Terrence Upchurch, Dist. 20

Juanita Brent, Dist. 22

Daniel Troy, Dist. 23

Cecil Thomas, Dist. 25

Sedrick Denson, Dist. 26

Rachel Baker, Dist. 27

Jessica Miranda, Dist. 28

Cindy Abrams, Dist. 29

Bill Seitz, Dist. 30

Bill Roemer, Dist. 31

Bob Young, Dist. 32

Tavia Galonski, Dist. 33

Casey Weinstein, Dist. 34

Andrea White, Dist. 36

Tom Young, Dist. 37

Willis Blackshear, Dist. 38

Phil Plummer, Dist. 39

Josh Williams, Dist. 41

Derek Merrin, Dist. 42

Thomas Hall, Dist. 46

Sara Carruthers, Dist. 47

Scott Oelslager, Dist. 48

Thomas West, Dist. 49

Reggie Stoltzfus, Dist. 50

Brett Hillyer, Dist. 51

Gayle Manning, Dist. 52

Joe Miller, Dist. 53

Adam Mathews, Dist. 56

Jamie Callender, Dist. 57

Al Cutrona, Dist. 58

Adam Bird, Dist. 63

Sharon Ray, Dist. 66

Melanie Miller, Dist. 67

Kevin Miller, Dist. 69

Brian Lampton, Dist. 70

James Duffee, Dist. 71

Gail Pavliga, Dist. 72

Jeffrey LaRe, Dist. 73

Haraz Ghanbari, Dist. 75

Marilyn John, Dist. 76

Scott Wiggam, Dist. 77

Susan Manchester, Dist. 78

James Hoops, Dist. 81

Jon Cross, Dist. 83

Angela King, Dist. 84

Tracy Richardson, Dist. 86

Riordan McClain, Dist. 87

J. Swearingen, Dist. 89

Brian Baldridge, Dist. 90

Bob Peterson, Dist. 91

Mark Johnson, Dist. 92

Jason Stephens, Dist. 93

Jay Edwards, Dist. 94

Don Jones, Dist. 95

Adam Holmes, Dist. 97

Darrell Kick, Dist. 98





































Printer-Friendly Version